Iraq and Afganistan veterans to honor Brian Mast
Brian Mast is one Republican benefiting from changes in voter registration.

Brian Mast

Republican U.S. Rep. Brian Mast is being honored with the Award for Leadership in Government from the Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America.

At the organization’s second-annual “IAVA Salutes” event in June, the group identified as the leading voice of post-9/11 generation veterans will honor Mast and journalist Leo Shane of Military Times, who will receive the award for excellence in reporting on veterans’ issues on Capitol Hill.

Mast, of Palm City, is completing his first term representing Florida’s 18th Congressional District. His re-election bid is being challenged by two Republicans and two Democrats.

“Congressman Brian Mast is a combat-wounded Afghanistan veteran who has consistently put country over self. Congressman Mast is a leader on critical veterans issues in Washington, including sponsoring IAVA supported legislation on toxic exposures and cosponsoring IAVA-led legislation on women veterans,” Paul Rieckhoff, founder and CEO of IAVA, stated in a news release issued by Mast’s office.

In 2017, the first annual IAVA Salutes event honored ABC News correspondent Martha Raddatz and U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, a Democrat from Hawaii.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704