Carlos Lopez-Cantera won’t be next governor after all

Carlos Lopez-Cantera, Rick Scott

Gov. Rick Scott will not resign from office before his term ends, a spokesman announced on Tuesday.

“When Governor Scott was elected Governor of Florida, he promised to fight for Florida families every single day of his term,” said John Tupps, Scott’s Communications Director. “Governor Scott will remain Governor until January 8th, 2019.”

The announcement extinguishes speculation that Lt. Gov. Carlos LopezCantera would briefly assume the governorship.

Many believed Scott, elected to the U.S. Senate in November, would resign as governor ahead of the Senate’s swearing-in ceremony on Jan. 3. If that were the case, Lopez-Cantera would be in line to take over until Scott’s term officially ended five days later on Jan. 8.

That scenario played out decades ago when Lt. Gov. Wayne Mixson took over for former Gov. Bob Graham, who was elected to the Senate in 1986, months before his official term ended.

But this time, that won’t be the case.

According to Tupps, “U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has agreed” to swear-in Scott on the afternoon of Jan. 8.

Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis will be sworn-in to office on the same day.

Danny McAuliffe

Danny McAuliffe is a Tallahassee correspondent for Florida Politics. He is a graduate of Florida State University, where he served as the editor of the FSView & Florida Flambeau. He is a lifelong Floridian and indulges in swimming, hiking, running and memes when the news cycle permits. Reach him at [email protected]

One comment

  • Sick of Scott

    December 16, 2018 at 3:17 pm

    Scott is so vindictive, Carlos must have done something he did not like.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Ron Brackett, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn