Leon County will register ex-cons to vote before next Legislative Session


Leon County Supervisor of Elections Mark Earley will begin implementing Amendment 4 in January, apparently circumventing Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis‘ desire to wait until after the upcoming Legislative Session.

The measure, approved by voters in November, gives voting rights back to certain felons who’ve completed their sentences.

DeSantis told the Palm Beach Post last week that Amendment 4 should not take effect until “implementing language” is passed by the Legislature and signed into law.

DeSantis told the Post that he expects lawmakers to work on the issue during the 2019 Legislative Session, which begins March 5 and lasts 60 days.

But Earley’s office said on Wednesday the amendment takes effect on Jan. 8.

“Leon County Supervisor of Elections Mark Earley will be registering new voters, including former convicted felons who are eligible to vote, at that time,” reads a news release from the Leon elections office.

Former Tallahassee Mayor Andrew Gillum, who lost to DeSantis in November, said on Twitter that Earley’s office is “following the will of voters by beginning registration of former non-violent felons on January 8, 2019, as the Florida Constitution now requires.” Gillum encouraged other supervisors of elections to do the same.

Amendment 4 does not restore voting rights to felons convicted of murder or sexual offenses.

Danny McAuliffe

Danny McAuliffe is a Tallahassee correspondent for Florida Politics. He is a graduate of Florida State University, where he served as the editor of the FSView & Florida Flambeau. He is a lifelong Floridian and indulges in swimming, hiking, running and memes when the news cycle permits. Reach him at dmcauliffe500@gmail.com.

One comment

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: Peter@FloridaPolitics.com
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704