It’s official: Kionne McGhee to run for Miami-Dade County Commission

McGhee is now listed among four candidates to replace outgoing Commissioner Dennis Moss.

House Minority Leader Kionne McGhee has officially entered the race for the District 9 seat on the Miami-Dade County Commission.

McGhee is now listed among four candidates to replace outgoing Commissioner Dennis Moss. Moss, who has represented District 9 for nearly three decades, is among the commissioners being forced out by newly-installed term limits.

“I believe I have the expertise and the know how and the experience to get the job done on Day One,” McGhee said, according to the Miami Herald’s Doug Hanks.

“Transportation has plagued and stifled this community in more ways than you can imagine. Affordable housing is similar in that it’s causing a crisis in our South Dade community.”

McGhee currently represents House District 117, but is also facing term limits ahead of the 2020 election. Thus, he’s decided to make a move closer to home, attempting to win in a district which covers much of the same part of the county as HD 117.

Pastor and former county aide Mark Coats, South Bay Community Council member Johnny Farias and attorney Marlon Hill are also vying for the District 9 seat.

Moss told the Herald he would endorse McGhee back in February, well before McGhee had officially filed.

A total of five seats on the 13-member commission are up for grabs in 2020. Another two could be as well, as an additional pair of commissioners are running for Mayor in 2020. A special election would be held to replace that duo as well should they qualify in the Mayor’s race.

Ryan Nicol

Ryan Nicol covers news out of South Florida for Florida Politics. Ryan is a native Floridian who attended undergrad at Nova Southeastern University before moving on to law school at Florida State. After graduating with a law degree he moved into the news industry, working in TV News as a writer and producer, along with some freelance writing work. If you'd like to contact him, send an email to [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704