Senate approves bill creating resiliency office

House will take up Senate version.

The Senate passed legislation codifying the statewide resiliency office, even as the Governor’s appointee has moved on to a federal gig.

SPB 7016 was the Senate Infrastructure and Security Committee committee bill.

The House bill died in committee, but the Senate version will be received in messages.

The legislation continues a recent environmental tack toward acknowledging climate science, a novelty to some degree in Tallahassee despite the impact of climate change and sea-level rise.

During the Rick Scott era, the concept of “climate change” was officially discounted. However, Scott has trumpeted his “record environmental spending” in statements and media releases both during and after his time in the Governor’s Mansion.

The bill, presented by Sen. Tom Lee, “codified” the Office of Resiliency.

Gov. Ron DeSantis had appointed Dr. Julia Nesheiwat, Florida’s first Chief Resilience Officer, in July.

She has since moved on to serve as President Donald Trump’s homeland security adviser

The committee bill also establishes a sea-level rise task force that will include Nesheiwat, the Chief Science Officer from the Department of Environmental Protection, and others.

DEP would also administer a $500,000 budget for studies conducted or evaluated by the task force.

Also included in the task force: one appointee each from the House Speaker and Senate President, and representatives of the Department of Transportation, Division of Emergency Management. Department of Agriculture, Division of Fish and Wildlife, and Department of Economic Opportunity.

The task force sunsets in 2023; it convenes in 2020, with recommendations due by Jan 1, 2021.

A.G. Gancarski

A.G. Gancarski has written for since 2014. He is based in Northeast Florida. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter: @AGGancarski


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn