Brevard County Republicans hold Senate, House seats

Debbie Mayfield
Debbie Mayfield, Tyler Sirois, Thad Altman, Randy Fine all win.

Republican Sen. Debbie Mayfield and Republican Reps. Tyler Sirois, Thad Altman, and Randy Fine coasted to reelections Tuesday in Brevard County.

The Republican sweep again thwarted Democrats’ hopes that they might make inroads in Brevard, once a county that had been shading purple but which has moved back toward deep red.

Mayfield, of Indialantic, won a second term representing Senate District 17 covering southern Brevard and northern Indian River County, by defeating Scot Fretwell of Vero Beach. There also was an independent candidate in the contest, Phillip Snyder of Palm Bay. Unofficial early voting results showed Mayfield with 61%, Fretwell with 36%, and Snyder with 3%.

Sirois, of Merritt Island, won a second term in House District 51, in northeastern Brevard, by defeating Democratic challenger Joan Marie Majid, also of Merritt Island, by an unofficial early tally of 62% to 38%.

Altman, of Indalantic, won a third term to represent House District 52 in central Brevard, defeating Democrat Lloyd Dabbs of Viera by an unofficial early tally of 62% to 38%.

Fine, of southern Brevard, won a third term to represent House District 53 in southern Brevard by defeating Democrat Phil Moore of West Melbourne by an unofficial early tally of 55% to 44%.

Fine’s district was the only one of the bunch that offered a competitive playing field for Democrats, with a voter registration that favored Republicans by only about 3 percentage points. But no help came for Moore, who was able to raise only about $20,000 for his campaign. Plenty came for Fine, who put together a reelection war chest of $336,000.

Mayfield, who raised more than a half-million dollars while her opponent gathered just $10,000, had a 14-point voter registration advantage in SD 17. Sirois’ and Altman’s voter registration advantages in HD 51 and HD 52 also were in double-digits.

Brevard Republicans also helped provide a reelection victory for Rep. Rene Plasencia in House District 50. That district covers part of northwestern Brevard including Titusville, but most of the district, and Plasencia’s home, are in Orange County.

The other Senator representing Brevard, Sen. Tom Wright, was not up for reelection this year.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn