Ten named to the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame
The Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame Council looks for nominees for the Florida Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

veterans hof
The Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame recognizes veterans for their civic and business accomplishments.

The Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame Class of 2022 inductees has been set.

The Cabinet on Tuesday signed off on the names of 10 veterans chosen for the honor.

Florida Department of Veterans Affairs Executive Director James S. Hartsell told the Cabinet Tuesday 40 applications were submitted to the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame Council for consideration this year. The Council vetted the applications and submitted to Hartsell the names of 10 veterans selected for induction into the hall this year.

“They have my full support,” Hartsell said as he announced the 2022 slate of inductees.

Included in the 2022 class are three veterans from Tampa and two from Tallahassee. They are Jeffery Cathey, Greg Holder and Maxine Reyes of Tampa; and Gordon Lightfoot and Glenn Sutphin of Tallahassee.

Other veteran inductees include Palm Harbor resident Mike Bousher; Jacksonville resident Anthony D’Leo; Orlando resident John Gionet; Riviera Beach resident Don Lanman; and St. Augustine resident John Leslie.

The Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame Wall is on the Plaza Level of the Florida Capitol in Tallahassee. The Legislature created the Hall of Fame in 2012 as a way to honor the accomplishments of the 1.5 million veterans who live here.

Unlike a traditional military Hall of Fame, the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame recognizes veterans for their civic, business and community accomplishments. Only veterans who have been discharged honorably can be considered for induction. The law allows for as many as 20 veterans to be named to the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame each year.

Veterans, or those acting on their behalf, can submit applications between January 1 and May 31. The ceremony occurs on or near Veteran’s Day, November 11. Including the inductees from the 2022 class 131 veterans are in the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame.

Christine Jordan Sexton

Tallahassee-based health care reporter who focuses on health care policy and the politics behind it. Medicaid, health insurance, workers’ compensation, and business and professional regulation are just a few of the things that keep me busy.

One comment

  • Anthony George D'Aleo

    August 25, 2022 at 5:47 pm

    Need to correct the spelling of my name, Hall Fame this year. Should be Anthony G D’Aleo Thank you

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn