Nikki Fried’s ‘Won’t Back Down’ committee endorses 20 candidates
Nikki Fried is shifting her star power to electing pro-choice Democrats.

Fried Official Campaign Photo
This list includes pro-choice Democratic women from across the state.

A political committee launched to protect abortion access in Florida is making its first round of endorsements, with nods to 20 pro-choice female candidates.

Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried launched the Won’t Back Down Political Committee last month. As of Oct. 7, the committee had raised $35,000, including $25,000 from Fried’s committee, Florida Consumers first. 

The endorsements include state and local candidates. Each will receive financial and earned media support from the newly created political committee, according to a press release from the group.

“When I ran in 2018, I made a promise that I would never back down from a fight. Over the last 4 years, I’ve been doing exactly that — defending our rights and fighting for our freedoms. Won’t Back Down will work tirelessly to ensure that the next line of qualified candidates aren’t left behind, and that they have the organizational support willing to step up and make sure that they are competitive and successful,” Fried said in a statement.

The endorsements include U.S. Rep. Val Demings, who is running to unseat U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio. It also includes Democratic nominee for Attorney General Aramis Ayala, who is hoping to upset incumbent Ashley Moody.

The list also includes the Democrat hoping to replace Fried, who is currently the state’s only statewide elected Democrat, as Agriculture Commissioner. That candidate, Naomi Blemur, faces a huge challenge against current Senate President Wilton Simpson. Fried is not seeking re-election. She unsuccessfully ran for Governor, losing in the Primary Election to now-Democratic nominee Charlie Crist.

Other endorsed candidates include:

— Sen. Loranne Ausley: Senate District 3.

Sen. Janet Cruz: Senate District 14.

Eunic Ortiz: Senate District 18.

Raquel Pacheco: Senate District 36.

Janelle Perez: Senate District 38.

— Rep. Kristen Arrington: House District 46.

Lindsay Cross: House District 60.

Janet Varnell Warwick: House District 61.

Rep. Michele Rayner Goolsby: House District 62.

Rep. Kelly Skidmore: House District 92.

Hillary Cassel: House District 101.

Rep. Marie Woodson: House District 105.

Donna Deegan: Jacksonville Mayor.

Allison Miller: State Attorney, 6th Judicial Circuit.

Donna Korn: Broward County School Board, Seat 8.

Yvette DuBose: Fort Lauderdale City Commission, District 3.

Michelle McGovern: Palm Beach County Commission, District 6.

Staff Reports


  • Impeach Biden

    October 17, 2022 at 5:38 am

    Nikki who?

    • Fat Cammack

      October 17, 2022 at 7:32 am

      You just make sure and vote for me baby. You want greasy, bare assed face sit? Done. You want greasy 10 course meal? Done. You want a conservative with true grit, and bacon and sausage and cheese eggs and pancakes and biscuits with about 2 quarts of gravy? Done!💋🐷

      • Tom

        October 17, 2022 at 2:42 pm

        Impeach the fraud!

  • Paul

    October 17, 2022 at 11:59 am

    Reccomend for judges! I only want to vote for Democrats!!!

  • marylou

    October 17, 2022 at 4:08 pm

    FL Supreme Court:
    NO—Canady, Couriel, Grosshans, Polston

    Amendments–NO on all 3

    Found DCA and other judges online, but don’t remember which websites! For a couple, I had to go to a Republican/“values” website and vote NO on their YES judges. It should be made a lot easier!

    • marylou

      October 17, 2022 at 4:16 pm

      * to Paul

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn