Gov. DeSantis appoints 2 to 13th Judicial Circuit
Right on Crime says it's about time Florida updates its parole system.

The new judges will replace outgoing veterans of the court.

Gov. Ron DeSantis has appointed two people to the bench in the 13th Judicial Circuit Court.

The appointees are Michael Hooi and Joseph Tompkins, both of Tampa.

Hooi has served as a Hillsborough County Court judge since 2021. Prior to that he worked as an associate attorney at Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler.

He earned his undergraduate degree from Vanderbilt University and his law degree from the University of Florida. Hooi will fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Judge Rex Barbas.

Tompkins has been a Hillsborough County Court Judge since 2021 also. He previously served as an Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Middle District of Florida. He earned his undergraduate and law degrees from Ave Maria University.

Tompkins will fill the vacancy created by Judge Vivian Corvo’s retirement.

The Thirteenth Judicial Circuit is one of 20 circuit courts in Florida. It presides over Hillsborough County. It is staffed with 68 judges under the leadership of Chief Judge Christopher C. Sabella.

Peter Schorsch

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises Media and is the publisher of, INFLUENCE Magazine, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. Previous to his publishing efforts, Peter was a political consultant to dozens of congressional and state campaigns, as well as several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella. Follow Peter on Twitter @PeterSchorschFL.

One comment

  • Rick Whitaker

    October 4, 2023 at 9:53 pm

    a judge that graduated from a christian school, that’s a bad thing for fairness and justice. look at the supreme court for an example.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar