FEMA declares Central Florida counties eligible for individual assistance – Florida Politics

FEMA declares Central Florida counties eligible for individual assistance

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared six inland Central Florida counties to be eligible for individual assistance from the disaster declaration for Hurricane Irma, U.S. Rep. Darren Soto announced Wednesday

The declaration came hours after Soto and four other Central Florida members of Congress sought federal designations for Orange, Seminole, Lake, Osceola, and Polk counties that would allow the Central Florida counties directly affected by Hurricane Irma to apply for FEMA financial assistance under the individuals and household program.

FEMA had previously declared most of Florida’s coastal counties as eligible. There now are 21 Florida counties eligible.

Residents from those inland Central Florida counties now are eligible to apply for FEMA’s Individuals and Household Program, an emergency fund available for residents who are financially unable to cover personal and home repair costs caused by Hurricane Irma.

Soto was joined in his letter seeking the declaration by U.S. Reps. Dennis Ross of Lakeland, Stephanie Murphy of Winter Park, Thomas Rooney of Okeechobee, and Val Demings of Orlando.

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at scott@floridapolitics.com.
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons