With no opposition, Wilton Simpson automatically returns to state Senate

Jim RosicaJune 24, 20163min
Wilton Simpson

Wilton Simpson will return to the state Senate next year.

By the end of qualifying Friday, the Trilby Republican had gotten no opposition for the Senate District 10 seat.

He now represents Senate District 18, but the political boundaries changed this year because of redistricting.

Redistricting could have forced a primary challenge from GOP Sen. John Legg of Trinity, who now lives in the same district as Simpson. But Legg announced earlier this year he would bow out and not challenge his colleague.

Simpson, a Pasco County farmer, is on track to assume the Senate presidency in 2020-22 as long as the GOP maintains its controlling majority in that chamber.

“It’s an honor to continue serving my community in the Florida Senate,” he said in a statement. “In addition to my continued service to Pasco and Hernando counties, I am grateful to the people of Citrus County, who are part of the new District 10.

“It is a great privilege to serve the families of my district, and I invite them to contact my office anytime with their thoughts and concerns,” he added. “Working together we will make Florida better for this generation and many to come.”

Simpson, first elected to the Senate in 2012, was chair of the Community Affairs Committee this past Session and was vice-chair of the Environmental Preservation and Conservation committee.

At the end of this week, he posted over $250,000 in fundraising and almost $104,000 in spending, campaign finance records show.

Candidates had until noon Friday to qualify to be on the ballot. A spokeswoman for state elections officials said she expects all of the candidate qualifying information to be finalized by Friday evening.

Simpson turns 50 next Tuesday.

Jim Rosica

Jim Rosica is the Tallahassee-based Senior Editor for Florida Politics. He previously was the Tampa Tribune’s statehouse reporter. Before that, he covered three legislative sessions in Florida for The Associated Press. Jim graduated from law school in 2009 after spending nearly a decade covering courts for the Tallahassee Democrat, including reporting on the 2000 presidential recount. He can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn