CD 10 primary with four Democrats; Thuy Lowe wins GOP nod

Thuy Lowe

As expected, Florida’s 10th Congressional District in Orlando will have a heavy slate of Democratic candidates, while Thuy Lowe has become the Republican’s nominee.

Lowe, of Sorrento, was the only Republican candidate to qualify in CD 10 after another announced Republican, Geoff LaGarde, of Jacksonville, withdrew Friday and threw his support to her.

She’ll face the winner of a battle royal in the Aug. 30 Democratic primary between Orlando businessman Bob Poe, former Orlando Police Chief Val Demings, state Sen. Geraldine Thompson of Orlando,  and Orlando lawyer Fatima Rita Fahmy, all of whom qualified.

The district covers western Orange County and west Orlando. The incumbent, Republican U.S. Rep. Daniel Webster of Winter Garden, decided to run in Florida’s 11th Congressional District instead, because redistricting had made CD 10 a heavily Democratic district with a majority of minority voters.




Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn