Marco Rubio receives pro forma endorsements from members of Florida’s congressional delegation

rubio 06.22.16 (Large)

Nearly a dozen members of Florida’s congressional delegation have thrown their support behind Sen. Marco Rubio’s re-election bid.

Rubio’s campaign announced Tuesday that Reps. Gus Bilirakis, Ander Crenshaw, Carlos Curbelo, Mario Diaz-Balart, John Mica, Jeff Miller, Tom Rooney, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Dennis Ross, Steve Southerland, and Daniel Webster have endorsed the Miami Republican. The announcement comes just weeks after Rubio announced he was running for re-election.

“Marco Rubio’s commitment to Florida is unmatched, and I am proud to endorse my friend in his re-election bid. I had the pleasure of working side by side with Marco, and I can attest that his conservative leadership and determination are beyond compare in the U.S. Senate,” said Southerland. “I look forward to Marco continuing to serve as our U.S. senator, and I applaud him for his decision to seek re-election.”

Rubio announced last month he was running for re-election. He’ll face Manatee County Republican Carlos Beruff in the Aug. 30 primary. A recent Associated Industries of Florida poll had him leading Beruff 71 percent to 7 percent.

“In these challenging times, Sen. Rubio’s experience and deep knowledge on issues of foreign policy and national security are desperately needed,” said Diaz-Balart. “I am confident he will continue serving our state with honor and integrity. I look forward to supporting Senator Rubio’s re-election bid this fall.”

Last updated on July 12, 2016

Jenna Buzzacco-Foerster


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn