Richard Corcoran updates House members on leadership, staffing changes
Florida House of Representatives speaker designate Richard Corcoran in his office in the Florida Capitol December 2, 2015.

Richard Corcoran 01 mw 120215 (Large)

House Speaker-designate Richard Corcoran updated members on committees, House leadership, and staffing changes Tuesday.

The memo (the full text is here) was meant to give members an update on what to expect in the coming weeks.

In it, the Land O’Lakes Republican lays out a timeline of when members should expect to get their committee assignments and when leadership positions will be announced. It also highlights staffing changes.

Corcoran said the leadership team — including Speaker pro tempore, Majority Leader and full committee chairs — will be announced no later than Nov. 9. The leadership team will then work collaboratively to appoint committee vice chairs and subcommittee chairs.

Members will receive a committee assignment preference form on Nov. 15, but committee assignments won’t be doled out until all committee and subcommittee chairmanships have been appointed.

While Corcoran said the House hopes to finalize staff assignments by the end of September, several members of the senior staff leadership team have already been announced. Joining Matt Bahl, who will serve as chief of staff, are: Lynn Cobb, Tom Hamby, and Carol Gormley who will be involved in policy; Tony Cortese, who will be involved in process; Fred Piccolo in communications; and James Blair in external affairs.

Corcoran said JoAnne Leznoff and Stephanie Birtman will continue in Appropriations and Rules respectively, and Russell Hosford will serve another term as Sergeant-at-Arms. Portia Palmer will serve as the Clerk, and Joanna Hassell will rejoin the House to head up the education policy staff.

Jenna Buzzacco-Foerster


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn