Dozens apply to Rick Scott for Constitution Revision Commission
Florida Constitution Revision Commission, 1966. SOURCE: State Archives of Florida


Nearly 60 people already have applied to Gov. Rick Scott for a seat on the panel that reviews the state’s constitution every two decades.

According to a list the governor’s office released Wednesday, among those seeking to be on the Constitution Revision Commission are:

Frederick Brummer, a Republican former lawmaker and past Orange County commissioner.

Kurt Browning, a former secretary of state and currently Pasco schools superintendent.

Rich Crotty, a veteran Republican politico from Orange County who was in the Legislature and served as Orange County mayor for 10 years.

Rick Dantzler, a former lawmaker and one-time Democratic lieutenant-governor candidate.

Don Eslinger, who is set to retire next year as Seminole County Sheriff.

Sally Heyman, a Democratic former legislator now on the Miami-Dade Commission.

Joseph Little, a professor emeritus of constitutional law at the University of Florida’s Levin College of Law.

Bernie McCabe, the longtime state attorney for Pasco and Pinellas counties.

William Schifino, a Tampa attorney and president of The Florida Bar.

The Florida Constitution allows for a “revision commission” to meet every 20 years to “examine the constitution, hold public hearings and … file its proposal, if any, of a revision of this constitution or any part of it.”

As governor, Scott will choose 15 of the 37 commissioners and selects its chairperson. That means the Naples Republican will indirectly influence the retooling of the state’s chief governing document for an entire generation.

In addition to Scott, the House speaker and Senate president each get nine picks. Assuming they win re-election in November, GOP state Rep. Richard Corcoran of Land O’ Lakes will be speaker in 2017 and state Sen. Joe Negron, a Stuart Republican, will be president.

Republican Pam Bondi is automatically a member as attorney general, and Florida Supreme Court Chief Justice Jorge Labarga gets three picks. He announced earlier this week he had begun taking applications.

Under law, the next commission is scheduled to meet 30 days before the beginning of the Legislature’s 2017 regular session.

Any changes it proposes would be in the form of constitutional amendments, which would have to be approved by 60 percent of voters on a statewide ballot.

Scott’s application is here. His “appointments will be made no later than March 6, 2017,” his office said.

The full alphabetical list of applicants as released by the governor’s office is below.


Avalon, Victoria

Baade, David

Barbee, Donald

Belgard, Tildon

Beltran, Michael

Browning, Kurt

Brummer, Frederick

Carlock, Margaret

Clayton, Robert

Crotty, Richard

Cullen, Lisa

Dantzler, Rick

Dillinger, Robert

Eslinger, Donald

Foster, Brett

Furst, Jr, William

Gillis, Laurence

Goiran, Barbara

Goldstein, Stuart

Gosney, Steven

Handin, Jason

Harding, Nicholas

Haynie, Susan

Heyman, Sally

Kinch, Abby

Little, Joseph

Maier, Christopher

Marsh, James

Mason III, Scott

Matthews, Joseph

Maymon, David

McCabe, Bernie

Mellen III, Robert

Millert, Wayne

Monahan Jr., Gerald

Moore, Edwin

Moriarty, Mark

Patterson Jr, Ralph “Pat”

Primrose, Nicholas

Puig, Diego

Rainka, Michael

Ramswell, Prebble

Robinson IV, Grover

Rosenblatt, Howard

Runcie, Robert

Schifino, William

Simovitch, Audra

Smiley, Judge Elijah

Smith, Daniel

Stelzl, Henry

Svechin, Larisa

Tuck, Andy

Upthagrove, Brett

VanValkenburgh, Jessica

Wigder, Marc

Zilaitis, Frank

Zoes, Caroline

Jim Rosica

Jim Rosica is the Tallahassee-based Senior Editor for Florida Politics. He previously was the Tampa Tribune’s statehouse reporter. Before that, he covered three legislative sessions in Florida for The Associated Press. Jim graduated from law school in 2009 after spending nearly a decade covering courts for the Tallahassee Democrat, including reporting on the 2000 presidential recount. He can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn