Nancy Hodges cruises, Terry Lister maybe loses in Madeira Beach election
Madeira Beach.

Madeira Beach aerial photo

Madeira Beach voters re-elected Commissioner Nancy Hodges and may have kicked out Commissioner Terry Lister in Tuesday’s municipal election.

With all the votes counted, longtime City Commission member Lister was four votes behind opponent Deby Weinstein in the race for the District 1 seat on the commission.

Voters cast 1,194 votes in the race and as of 9 PM, Weinstein had 599 votes in her column compared to 595 for Lister.

The vote count wasn’t razor thin in the District 2 race, however.

Hodges was up against Eric Breslin in the contest and easily secured re-election with a 55-45 victory.

The Madeira Beach Board of Commissioners consists of the mayor and four commission members. After each municipal election, the board votes to elect a Vice-Mayor for a one-year term.

The panel meets the second Tuesday of every month at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall.

Madeira Beach was one of several Pinellas County municipalities to hold elections Tuesday.

More than 20 city commission or city council seats were up for grabs in communities across the county, including seats in Belleair, Belleair Beach, Clearwater, Gulfport, Indian Rocks Beach, Kenneth City, Redington Beach, South Pasadena and Treasure Island.

In addition, the communities of Belleair, Indian Rocks Beach, Kenneth City, Pinellas Park and Treasure Island voted in mayoral elections.

Unofficial returns for each of Tuesdays elections are available through the Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar