Rick Scott appoints Sally Moss to Sumter School Board

sally moss purple background

Gov. Rick Scott announced Monday he appointed Sally Moss to a vacant spot on the Sumter County School Board.

Moss, 69, is a retired realtor who also serves on the Villages Board of Directors, the as well as the Community Development Board of Directors and the Investment Advisory Committee for the Sumpter County city.

Scott appointed Moss to the District 1 seat vacated by Hadyn Evans, a U.S. Marine Corps veteran who moved to the area in 2005. He died in February at the age of 76 after serving more than a decade on the school board.

Moss’ term runs through Nov. 13, 2018, one week after Sumter County voters choose their next school board member for the District 1 seat, which covers the northeastern corner of the Central Florida county.

Moss is currently running for re-election to her seat on the Community Development board, though if she decides to run for school board, she would be the only candidate in the race.

According to the Sumter County Supervisor of Elections website, no candidates have filed to for District 1 as of Monday evening.

Also on the ballot in November are the District 3 seat held by David Williams and the and the District 5 seat Kathie Joiner. Both are running for re-election; neither currently face an opponent.

School board seats will be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot. They are nonpartisan.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn