Jimmy Patronis, 30 legislative candidates get builders’ backing

Jimmy Patronis and Ashley Moody

The Associated Builders and Contractors of Florida has completed its list of endorsements for Florida Cabinet and contested primary races for the Florida Legislature, announcing the backing of Republican Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis‘s re-election effort, and 30 legislative candidates.

Though it has not yet been announced, the association, meeting this week in Marco Island, also reportedly is set to declare its endorsement of Republican Ashley Moody for Florida attorney general.

The builders group released its official list following earlier annoucements of endorsements for Republican Gov. Rick Scott in the U.S Senate race today, and for Republican Adam Putnam‘s gubernatorial bid and Republican Matt Caldwell for Florida agriculture commissioner in previous actions.

It also previously announced some legislative endorsements in some races without primaries.

The legislative endorsements were decided by the state organization’s regional chapters. Among those being released Thursday, in elections with contested primaries, are:

Senate District 4, Republican state Sen. Aaron Bean, for re-election.

Senate District 16, Republican Ed Hooper.

Senate District 20, Republican state Sen. Tom Lee for re-election.

Senate District 30, Democratic state Sen. Bobby Powell Jr., for re-election.

House District 1, Republican Rebekah Bydlak.

House District 2, Republcian Alex Andrade.

House District 10, Republican Chuck Brandan.

House District 11, Republican state Rep. Cord Byrd for re-election.

House District 15, Republican Wyman Duggan.

House District 16, Republican Adrian Zika.

House District 50, Republican state Rep. Rene Plasencia for re-election.

House District 51, Republian Tyler Sirois.

House District 52, Republican state Rep. Thad Altman for re-election.

House District 53, Republican state Rep. Randy Fine for re-election.

House District 54, Republican state Rep. Erin Grall for re-election.

House District 59, Republican Joe Wicker.

House District 61, Democrat Karen Skyers.

House District 64, Republican state Rep. James Grant for re-election.

House District 72, Republican Ray Pilon.

House District 79, Republican Spencer Roach.

House District 81, Democrat Tina Polsky.

House District 82, state Rep. MaryLynn Magar for re-election.

House District 83, Republican Toby Overdorf.

House District 85, Republican state Rep. Rick Roth for re-election.

House District 86, Republican state Rep. Matt Willhite for re-election.

House District 87, Democratic state Rep. David Silvers for re-election.

House District 97, Democratic state Rep. Jared Moskowitz for re-election.

House District 115, Republican Vance Aloupis.

House District 116, Republcian state Rep. Daniel Perez for re-election.

House Districxt 119, Republican Annie Martinez.


Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704