Teresa Jacobs moving from Orange County Mayor’s office to School Board

Teresa Jacobs

Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs got herself elected countywide chair of the Orange County School Board Tuesday night.

For years people have been asking Jacobs what her next act was after eight years of almost unchallenged dominance of the Orange County government, with expectations that she might seek statewide office or a congressional seat. She surprised everyone but her family and closest friends by declaring in April that what she really always wanted to do is work in education.

Tuesday night she took 52 percent of the vote in a four-way contest, easily defeating Orange County School Board Member Nancy Robbinson and two educators, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Robert Prater.

Jacobs victory, coming after just five months of campaigning, means there won’t be a runoff election in November.

She becomes just the second countywide chair of the School Board since the Florida Legislature created the position, at Orange County’s request, eight years ago. She will succeed outgoing Chair Bill Sublette.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704