Connect with us


Jose Oliva names ed policy subcommittee chairs

House Speaker Jose Oliva has selected Republican state Reps. Cord ByrdByron Donalds and Ralph Massulo to chair the House education policy subcommittees, according to a list of assignments first obtained by Florida Politics.

Byrd, a second-term Republican representing Nassau and Duval counties, will chair the House Higher Education & Career Readiness Subcommittee.

Massulo, a second-term lawmaker representing Citrus and Hernando counties, will chair the PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee.

Donalds, who represents Hendry and Collier counties, will chair the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee.

Under former House Speaker Richard Corcoran, the antecessor to Byrd’s committee — the Post-Secondary Education Subcommittee — was chaired by former North Central Florida Rep. Elizabeth Porter.

The PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee was chaired by former Lithia Rep. Jake Raburn and the PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee was chaired by Latvala.

Byrd previously served as the vice chair of the Justice Appropriations subcommittee. The 2019 Session will be his first on an education-related committee.

Pasco County Republican Rep. Amber Mariano, who is also starting her second term, is vice chair of Byrd’s committee.

Last year, Massulo held a seat on the subcommittee he now chairs. He also served as vice chair on the Natural Resources & Public Lands Subcommittee for the 2018 Legislative Session.

Winter Haven Republican Rep. Sam Killebrew has been named vice chair of the PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee.

Donalds served as vice chair of the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee during the 2018 Legislative Session and also held a seat on the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee.

Clearwater Republican Rep. Chris Latvala will serve as vice chair under Donalds. Last night it was revealed that Latvala would head up the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee, with Brevard County Rep. Randy Fine being tapped to chair the Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Oliva previously selected Eustis Republican Rep. Jennifer Sullivan to take the reins of the Education Committee.

Written By

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.

Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jim Rosica, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Dan McAuliffe, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Bob Sparks, Andrew Wilson.
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.