Connect with us
José Oliva is looking to block the questionable 'energy choice' amendment.


House appropriations subcommittee chairs settled

State Reps. Holly Raschein, Chris Latvala, and Jay Trumbull are among seven members appointed by Speaker Jose Oliva to chair House appropriations subcommittees.

That trio plus state Reps. Jayer Williamson, MaryLynn Magar, Randy Fine, and Clay Yarborough join Appropriations Committee Chair Travis Cummings of Clay County to lead House budgeting efforts over the next two years.

Each of the new appropriations subcommittee chairs arrives from leadership posts of mostly related committees or subcommittees in the past Florida House class under former House Speaker Richard Corcoran. In most cases, the new chairs also are moving up in the subcommittees on which they served under Corcoran, though Williamson and Fine are both freshly joining the panels as chairs.

Still to be named: memberships of those and other House Committees for 2019.

Raschein, of Key Largo, will chair the Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee. Previously, she had chaired the Natural Resources and Public Lands Subcommittee. She succeeds former state Rep. Ben Albritton.

Latvala, of Clearwater, will oversee the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee, after previously chairing the PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee. He’s taking over from former state Rep. Manny Diaz.

Trumbull, of Panama City, will chair the Transportation and Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee, after previously heading both the Energy and Utilities Subcommittee and the Select Committee on Triumph Gulf Coast. He’s taking the chair previously held by former state Rep. Clay Ingram.

Williamson, of Pace, will chair the Government Operations and Technology Appropriations Subcommittee, after having chaired the Government Accountability Committee the past two sessions. He is succeeding state Rep. Blaise Ingoglia to head that committee.

Magar, of Tequesta, will chair the Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee, after having served as chair of the Health Innovation Subcommittee. She takes the chair vacated by the former state Rep. Jason Brodeur.

Fine, of Brevard County, will chair the Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee after previously serving as vice chair of the Careers and Competition Subcommittee. He succeeds departed state Rep. Larry Ahern.

Yarborough, of Jacksonville, will chair the Justice Appropriations Subcommittee, after having served as vice-chair of the Government Operations and Technology Appropriations Subcommittee. He’ll succeed former state Rep. Bill Hager.

Written By

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.

Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jim Rosica, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Dan McAuliffe, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Bob Sparks, Andrew Wilson.
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn

Receive our team's agenda-setting morning read of what's hot in Florida politics. Delivered straight to your inbox Monday through Friday.