Vero Beach voters stand by City Council choices after November election invalidated

Early Voting Begins In Iowa For Presidential Election
Tuesday night's special election served as a do-over.

Voters in Vero Beach have sent Robert Brackett, Laura Moss and Tony Young to the City Council once again after a lawsuit invalidated the trio’s election in November.

Linda Hillman, who came in fourth place Tuesday night, sued over the Nov. 6 election after she was disqualified for not completing the required paperwork. That suit was settled in December, with the parties agreeing to hold a special election as a do-over.

But even with Hillman appearing on the ballot this time around, voters stuck with their original choices.

In a race where the top three are seated, Young led the candidates with 25 percent of the vote, followed by Brackett and Moss both at just over 21 percent.

Hillman garnered 18 percent of the vote. Bob McCabe came in fifth place with 10 percent and Brian Heady ended in sixth with just 4 percent.

Heady was also disqualified from the November race due to incomplete paperwork.

With all precincts reporting, 2,762 of Vero Beach’s voters cast ballots. That’s just under 23 percent of the 12,208 registered voters in the area.

Ryan Nicol

Ryan Nicol covers news out of South Florida for Florida Politics. Ryan is a native Floridian who attended undergrad at Nova Southeastern University before moving on to law school at Florida State. After graduating with a law degree he moved into the news industry, working in TV News as a writer and producer, along with some freelance writing work. If you'd like to contact him, send an email to [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704