Stephanie Murphy joins ‘Queer Eye’ cast in vote pitch

Stephanie Murphy and cast of Queer Eye
The cast members were in Washington to promote the Equality Act.

Democratic U.S. Rep. Stephanie  Murphy met with the cast of Netflix’s Queer Eye show in the U.S. Capitol to discuss issues affecting the LGBTQ community and make a pitch for young voters to vote.

Murphy, of Winter Park, identified herself as a chair of the congressional Future Forum caucus, a caucus of young Democrats, as she joined four of the “Fab Five” stars of the Emmy Award-winning show, Bobby Berk, Tan France, Antoni Porowski, and Jonathan Van Ness, for a brief video calling on young people to vote.

The cast members were in Washington to promote passage of the Equality Act, House Resolution 5, sponsored by Democratic U.S. Rep. David Cicilline of Rhode Island and co-sponsored by 240 other members, mostly Democrats, including Murphy. The bill would extend basic rights to LGBTQ citizens, providing protections from discrimination in housing, employment, education, and more.

A news release from Murphy’s office said they also discussed gun violence prevention efforts, particularly in the aftermath of the shootings at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando in 2016 and Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland in 2018. They also discussed other mental health challenges experienced by young people.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

This is default text for notification bar