Lizbeth Benacquisto endorses Dane Eagle for Congress

Lizbeth Benacquisto Dane Eagle

State Rep. Dane Eagle picked up the endorsement of state Sen. Lizbeth Benacquisto in his run for Congress.

“Dane has proven himself to be a trusted and committed conservative with the leadership skills Southwest Florida deserves in Congress,” said Benacquisto.

“I have seen firsthand his strong conviction to stand up for what is right and know he will fight for our values, even in the face of fierce opposition. I trust that when we send Dane to Washington he will have our best interests on his mind and in his heart.”

Eagle, now the Florida House Republican Leader, announced this month he’s running to succeed U.S. Rep. Francis Rooney in Florida’s 19th Congressional District. Rooney announced in October he won’t seek a third term.

Benacquisto ran for the seat in 2014 when she lost to Curt Clawson. She considered running this year as well but decided earlier this month to sit the cycle out.

Eagle said he was excited to have Benacquisto’s support.

“Senator Benacquisto has been a significant conservative force in Southwest Florida over the past decade, where her principled leadership and dedication to our community have been unmatched,” Eagle said.

“I am honored to call Lizbeth a friend and mentor. Her trust and support not only mean a great deal to me personally, but a great deal to this campaign.”

Benacquisto served now as Rules Committee chair in the state Sentae and previously held the title of Senate Republican Leader.

Eagle has quickly worked to line up conservative establishment support in a quickly crowding field. He already announced a list of key endorsers including: former Lt. Gov. Jeff Kottkamp; Lee County Sheriff Carmine Marceno; former Lee County Sheriff Mike Scott; State Attorney Amira Fox; former State Attorney Steve Russell; Public Defender Kathy Smith; Tax Collector Larry Hart; Clerk of Court Linda Doggett; state Reps. Ray Rodrigues and Spencer Roach; former state Reps. Matt Caldwell and Gary Aubuchon; Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane; Cape Coral Mayor Joe Coviello; Estero Mayor Bill Ribble; and former Cape Coral Mayor Joe Mazurkiewicz.

Other Republican candidates who have already declared include Naples Dr. William Figlesthaler, former Minnesota state Rep. Dan Severson and International Chemistry United CEO Antonio Dumornay.

Jacob Ogles

Jacob Ogles has covered politics in Florida since 2000 for regional outlets including SRQ Magazine in Sarasota, The News-Press in Fort Myers and The Daily Commercial in Leesburg. His work has appeared nationally in The Advocate, Wired and other publications. Events like SRQ’s Where The Votes Are workshops made Ogles one of Southwest Florida’s most respected political analysts, and outlets like WWSB ABC 7 and WSRQ Sarasota have featured his insights. He can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn