Gov. DeSantis appoints three to the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission

Parkland Frostt
The Commission was formed in the wake of the state's worst school shooting in 2018.

Gov. Ron DeSantis appointed three new members to the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission, including one who is the Governor’s current appointee to the Broward County School Board.

The Commission was created in the wake of the state’s worst school shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in 2018 which left 17 dead and 17 others at the school injured. The Legislature charged it with analyzing school safety data and making recommendations for system improvements.

New members appointed Friday were:

— Pamela Davis, chief of the Punta Gorda Police Department since 2017. She worked previously as deputy chief of the Baltimore Police Department and director of the Baltimore Department’s Professional Development and Training Academy. Since coming to Florida, she’s served as the President of the Southwest Florida Police Chiefs Association and the Vice Chair of Drug-Free Charlotte County. Davis earned her master’s degree in management from Johns Hopkins University and is a graduate of both the Federal Bureau of Investigation National Academy and the Police Executive Research Forum.

— Daniel Foganholi, DeSantis’ appointee to the Broward County School Board, representing District One. He is the strategic partnership director for the Brazilian American Coalition and the legislative affairs director for New Generation Children’s Ministry. Foganholi holds certificates in marketing and business management from Florida Atlantic University, according to a release from the Governor’s Office.

— John Newman, the chief of Security and Emergency Management for Hillsborough County. He was previously the Assistant Chief for the Tampa Police Department. Newman earned his bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and his master’s degree in American studies from the University of South Florida and graduated from the Southern Police Institute at the University of Louisville.

The Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission had been due to expire last week, but 2022 legislation extended its life so it’s due to sunset July 1, 2025.

Anne Geggis

Anne Geggis is a South Florida journalist who began her career in Vermont and has worked at the Sun-Sentinel, the Daytona Beach News-Journal and the Gainesville Sun covering government issues, health and education. She was a member of the Sun-Sentinel team that won the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for coverage of the Parkland high school shooting. You can reach her on Twitter @AnneBoca or by emailing [email protected].


  • AnnaGraves

    July 8, 2023 at 6:03 am

    Google pay 350$ constantly my last look at was $4500 working 9 hours ofdependably on the web. My certainly youthful family mate has been averaging 19k all through consistent months and he works around 24 hours constantly. I can’ttrust in howdirect it was once I tried it out.This is my fundamentalconcern.for more data visit any tab this site Thanks a ton ………….



    Here►————➤ Dollargate0.blogspot.Com

  • PeterH

    July 8, 2023 at 10:32 am

    This is some kind of awful joke!

    Sign legislation to put more guns on the street ….. and follow up with appointments with lots of responsibility but zero accountability to effect change in the eventual outcome.

  • Dont Say FLA

    July 8, 2023 at 7:31 pm

    I predict 100% success rate for these three Rhonda appointments with keeping school children safe from scary drag queens and books.

    Good job Rhonda, Pamela, Daniel and John. Now get to work scrubbing the rainbow paint off them rocks before the kids see it!

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar