Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers perform at KAABOO 2017. Image via The Associated Press.

A.G. GancarskiMarch 25, 2015

We were the first to report that Republican Jimmy Holderfield, who lost narrowly in Jacksonville’s First Election Tuesday to Mike Williams and Ken Jefferson, is holding off on endorsing either of his opponents at the present time. That said, endorsements now are starting to fall into place. To no one’s surprise who saw their convivial interactions at forums, Lonnie McDonald has […]

A.G. GancarskiMarch 25, 2015

The Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce‘s political arm, JAXBIZ, endorsed almost a full slate of candidates in the Jacksonville First Election, and the results were mostly (though not uniformly) positive, with seven candidates winning outright and eight advancing to the May 19 runoff election. The email that the group sent out highlights Mayoral Candidate Lenny Curry and Sheriff hopeful Mike […]

A.G. GancarskiMarch 25, 2015

With Jacksonville Mayor Alvin Brown advancing to the runoff election, Florida and national Democrats are issuing the expected congratulatory messages. DNC Chair and Florida Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz issued the following statement: “Congratulations to Mayor Alvin Brown on being the top vote-getter in yesterday’s four-way election. I’m particularly pleased by the number of Democrats who participated in […]

A.G. GancarskiMarch 25, 2015

The hotly contested seven-way Jacksonville Sheriff’s Race is down to two candidates now: Democrat Ken Jefferson, who emerged with 37% of the vote, and Republican Mike Williams, the endorsed candidate of Sheriff John Rutherford, who finished in second place with 22% of the vote. The drama of the election was whether Williams or Jimmy Holderfield, the preferred candidate of […]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Jesse Scheckner, Andrew Wilson, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn