Duval Delegation left out of committee leadership in Florida House - Florida Politics

Duval Delegation left out of committee leadership in Florida House

Committee assignments are out for the Florida House. And in terms of leadership positions, the Duval Delegation is left out in the cold.

The Duval County Legislative Delegation may have its time atop committees yet, but 2017 won’t be that time.

With all but one member of the House delegation being a rookie, it follows that the Jacksonville contingent will be in a subordinate role.

And, in turn, it follows that the upcoming session may not be the rousing success for Duval that 2016 was.

While regional representation is stronger, with Travis Cummings of Clay County chairing Health and Human Services in addition to sitting on Appropriations and Rules & Policy, Duval County will take a back seat to other areas in the state.

The one returning member from Jacksonville – House District 15 Republican Jay Fant – will be Vice Chair of the Civil Justice & Claims Subcommittee of the Judiciary Committee.

Fant will also be on Ways and Means, on Governmental Accountability, and on the Insurance & Banking and Transportation & Tourism Appropriations subcommittees.

House District 11 Republican Cord Byrd is seated on the Public Integrity and Ethics Committee, with subcommittee assignments including Health Quality, Agriculture & Property Rights, Justice Appropriations, and Civil Justice & Claims.

House District 12 Republican Clay Yarborough joins Byrd on the Health Quality and Justice Appropriations subcommittees.

Yarborough, a former Jacksonville City Council member, will also be on the Transportation & Infrastructure and Oversight, Transparency & Administration subcommittees.

Additionally, Yarborough will be on the Public Integrity & Ethics Committee and the Joint Select Committee Collective Bargaining.

House District 13 Democrat Tracie Davis will join Yarborough on the Public Integrity & Ethics committee  and the Oversight, Transparency & Administration subcommittee.

Additionally, Davis will be on the Joint Legislative Auditing Committee, Government Operations & Technology Appropriations Subcommittee, and the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee.

House District 14 Democrat Kim Daniels will join Yarborough and Davis on the Public Integrity & Ethics Committee, and on the Oversight, Transparency & Administration Subcommittee.

Daniels’ other three subcommittees: Energy & Utilities, Transportation & Infrastructure, and Justice Appropriations (the latter of which finds her with delegation member Byrd).

House District 16 Republican Jason Fischer will be on the Public Integrity & Ethics Committee and Joint Administrative Procedures Committee.

Fischer also has four subcommittees: Energy & Utilities, PreK-12 Innovation, Natural Resources & Public Lands Subcommittee, and PreK-12 Appropriations.

Fischer, a four-year member of the Duval County School Board, will have a chance to bring that experience to Tallahassee.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons