Lake Ray new Duval GOP chairman; Lindsey Brock treasurer


For the second time in less than a year, the Duval County Republican Party has a new chairman. Lake Ray III defeated Vice Chairwoman Karyn Morton 101 to 78 after the culmination of a process full of color, drama, and intrigue.

Morton, who became vice chairwoman in 2014 (and acting chairwoman after Robin Lumb resigned for a Jacksonville City Hall job), retains her position as vice chairwoman. Morton is widely credited with being a hard worker for the party and its causes, and this bid for the chair was supported by a sizable chunk of the party’s grassroots.

Also, replacing Alexander Pantinakis as treasurer is Lindsey Brock. 

Contacted for comment, former Mayoral candidate and two-term City Council candidate Bill Bishop had this to say about former chairman Lumb and new chairman Ray:

“Robin presided over a very divisive period for the Duval GOP the likes of which I hope we never see again. I believe Lake is the right person to lead the party in a unified way.”

A.G. Gancarski

A.G. Gancarski has been a correspondent for since 2014. In 2018, he was a finalist for an Association of Alternative Newsweeklies "best political column." He can be reached at [email protected]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Ron Brackett, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn