Seminole County Sheriff Don Eslinger announces retirement


Seminole County Sheriff Don Eslinger said Wednesday morning that he will be retiring after 38 years on the job with 26 years as sheriff.

Eslinger made his statement on social media:

“After much thought and consideration, I have made the decision to retire as the Sheriff of Seminole County at the end of this term of office, in January 2017. It has been my privilege to serve with the Seminole County Sheriff’s Office for 38 years, and for 26 of those years as your Sheriff. I sincerely appreciate your support and confidence in our administration during this time.”

Eslinger also thanked the men and women who served alongside him in the sheriff’s department and his partners in the community. His current term runs until 2017. It’s reported he will support the candidacy of his Chief Deputy Dennis Lemma, who launched his campaign shortly after Eslinger’s announcement.

The longtime Seminole Sheriff gained national acclaim for keeping the peace during the George Zimmerman trial and the following the verdict, where Zimmerman was found innocent in the shooting death of Trayvon Martin. Eslinger was also on the list of potential lieutenant governor replacements being considered by Rick Scott after Jennifer Carroll stepped down, before ultimately deciding to stay on as sheriff.


Frank Torres

Frank Torres is the Orlando-area writer for Florida Politics. He is a U.S. Army veteran who grew up in Central Florida and has covered politics in the region since 2009. Torres serves as a regular contributor to several news and radio organizations in the area and features original photography from many of the events he covers.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn