Rick Scott appoints new Taylor County Commissioner
Rick Scott called for county-level Irma debris plans, only to take no specific action on them.

scott irma

The Taylor County Commission vacancy has been filled.

Gov. Rick Scott on Friday appointed Steve Spradley to fill the empty District 3 seat created by the passing of Frank Russell, who died in February.

Spradley, 62, of Perry, previously served as the county’s Emergency Management Director.

At that post, Spradley worked closely with commissioners. According to the Taylor County website, his responsibilities included serving as the Local Coordinating Officer for the commission. Under its guidance, he led emergency response initiatives.

During his tenure as director, Spradley was awarded the designation of Florida Professional Emergency Manager by the Florida Emergency Preparedness Association. It “recognizes devoted experienced Emergency Managers who possess advanced and diverse knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform effectively within a comprehensive Emergency Management program,” according to the Taylor County website.

Spradley also spent 31 years in law enforcement between the Taylor County Sheriff’s Department and the Bureau of Fire and Arson Investigations of the Florida Department of Financial Services.

Spradley’s appointed term began Friday and will last through November 13. He joins District 1 Commissioner Malcolm Page, District 2 Commissioner Jim Moody, District 4 Commissioner Pam Feagle and District 5 Commissioner Thomas Demps.

Spradley’s District 3 encompasses Steinhatchee and areas immediately north.

Danny McAuliffe

Danny is a contributor at floridapolitics.com. He is a graduate of Fordham Law School and Florida State University, where he served as the editor of the FSView & Florida Flambeau. Reach him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar