‘Community’ colleges no more? House backs name changes to two universities

The House back the name-change bill in a 112-0 vote.

The Florida House voted unanimously Wednesday to rename Florida Keys Community College and North Florida Community College by dropping the “community” from each college’s name.

The institutions would be called “The College of the Florida Keys” and “North Florida College,” respectively. The bill (HB 525), approved by the House in a 112-0 vote, was filed by Rep. Holly Raschein, a Key Largo Republican.

A companion bill (SB 720) was filed in the Senate by Sen. Anitere Flores. It’s been approved by the Education Committee.

This is the third straight year the name changes have been proposed in the Legislature. And it’s not the first time the House has unanimously agreed to rename the schools. But the proposal has previously met resistance in the Senate, which has caused it to fail.

The pair of schools are two of only four remaining in the state which call themselves “community colleges.” Should the bill be a success this time around, only Hillsborough Community College and Tallahassee Community College would remain.

Ryan Nicol

Ryan Nicol covers news out of South Florida for Florida Politics. Ryan is a native Floridian who attended undergrad at Nova Southeastern University before moving on to law school at Florida State. After graduating with a law degree he moved into the news industry, working in TV News as a writer and producer, along with some freelance writing work. If you'd like to contact him, send an email to [email protected]

One comment

  • Elizabeth Smock

    March 28, 2019 at 10:26 am

    Please note that these are not “universities” unless they offer graduate degrees, as in master’s or doctorates. They will be “colleges” offering associates and bachelors degrees, which is awesome in and of itself, but not the same. Thank you.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Aimee Sachs, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn