Second Republican files to succeed Bill Montford in SD 3

Crawfordville Republican Marva Preston entered the race Wednesday.

There could be a Republican Primary in the race to replace term-limited Democratic Sen. Bill Montford next year.

Marva Harris Preston of Crawfordville entered the Senate District 3 race Wednesday and took to Facebook to announce her candidacy shortly after the paperwork was accepted by the Division of Elections.

Her entry sets up a possible primary bout with Benjamin Horbowy, a Tallahassee Republican who filed his paperwork in early April.

Horbowy has not reported any campaign fundraising during his two months in the race, which has netted him a quartet of warning letters from the Division.

If both candidates qualify, it would be the first GOP nominating contest in the district since it was reapportioned.

SD 3 includes Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Hamilton, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Taylor and Wakulla counties. It has a strong Democratic lean.

Montford has held the seat since it was redrawn in 2012. In that cycle, he defeated Republican John Shaw by 46 points and in 2016 he earned more than two-thirds of the vote against GOP nominee Nancy Miller.

Democratic Rep. Loranne Ausley is looking to keep the seat blue in 2020. She announced her candidacy in August and has built up a substantial campaign fund.

As of May 31, her campaign had about $190,000 banked. Her political committee, Florida 2020, is stocked with another $73,000.

Ausley is technically opposed by former Tallahassee City Commissioner Scott Maddox, who is currently being prosecuted on public corruption charges. He has pleaded not guilty

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


  • Anthony Stephens

    June 21, 2019 at 9:32 am

    Ms Preston is going to become the first (R) in this district. Strong conservative values, 27 years LEO in Miami.. Strong support in her county.. We are estatic to support her in her run for Senate.

  • Gene Hackley

    June 26, 2019 at 7:03 pm

    Rumor has it Sheriff AJ Smith is going to run.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar