Tag: 12th Judicial Circuit
A man holds a sign as community members walk around Vander Veer Park during a march following the Supreme Court decision to overturn Roe v. Wade, June 26, 2022, in Davenport, Iowa. Democrats and their aligned groups raised more than $80 million in the week after the Supreme Court stripped away a woman’s constitutional right to have an abortion. The flood of cash offers one of the first tangible signs of how the ruling may energize voters. (Nikos Frazier/Quad City Times via AP)

Jim RosicaAugust 17, 2016

Lon S. Arend will be the next judge on the 12th Judicial Circuit bench for DeSoto, Manatee and Sarasota counties. Gov. Rick Scott‘s office announced the pick Wednesday. Arend, 46, of Palmetto, is the circuit’s chief assistant state attorney, or top deputy prosecutor, having joined that office in 1995. “During his time with the State Attorney’s Office, […]

Jim RosicaMarch 11, 2016

The Bradenton trial judge who accepted baseball tickets from a law firm representing a woman whose personal injury case he was presiding over has resigned from the bench. Circuit Judge John F. Lakin resigned Monday from the 12th Judicial Circuit. It serves DeSoto, Manatee and Sarasota counties. Lakin, elected in 2012, was facing a judicial conduct inquiry by the state’s Judicial […]

Jim RosicaFebruary 1, 2016

A Bradenton trial judge was charged Monday with accepting baseball tickets from a law firm representing a woman whose personal injury case he was presiding over. Circuit Judge John F. Lakin was accused of violating the state’s Code of Judicial Conduct by the Judicial Qualifications Commission (JQC), which said he demonstrated “a present unfitness to serve.” […]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Daniel Figueroa, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Joe Henderson, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Mike Wright, and Tristan Wood.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn