Qualifying period begins for Treasure Island commission seats

Elections ahead

The qualifying period for three seats on the Treasure Island City Commission opens noon Monday and runs through noon Jan. 3.

On the March 13 municipal ballot are the office of mayor and the District 2 and District 4 seats on the five-member commission.

Commission seats are put up for election every two years, with the District 2 and District 4 seats put on the ballot in even years and the District 1 and District 3 seats put on the ballot in odd years. Treasure Island votes for mayor every three years.

In the 2016 municipal elections, which doubled as the presidential primary election, District 4 Commissioner Ken Keys went up against Alan Bildz, winning with 60 percent of the vote.

Current District 2 Commissioner and Vice Mayor Larry Lunn was elected unopposed earlier this year and is serving the remainder of the term won by former Commissioner Tim Ramsberger, who now acts as the second in command at area tourism marketing arm Visit St. Pete/Clearwater.

District 2 covers the Isle of Palms and Sunshine Beach, while District 4 covers Sunset Beach and Gulf Boulevard northward to 112 Avenue.

Mayor Robert Minning‘s seat will also be on the ballot. He was first elected mayor in 2009 and won re-election in 2012 and 2015. As mayor, Minning chairs the commission’s meetings and workshops and is the official representative of Treasure Island.

The mayor and commission are responsible for setting the city’s policy and budget while the day-to-day job of running the city is the responsibility of the city manager — currently Garry Brumback, who reported for his first day on the job Monday.

Drew Wilson

Drew Wilson covers legislative campaigns and fundraising for Florida Politics. He is a former editor at The Independent Florida Alligator and business correspondent at The Hollywood Reporter. Wilson, a University of Florida alumnus, covered the state economy and Legislature for LobbyTools and The Florida Current prior to joining Florida Politics.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704