Seventh annual list of Tampa Bay’s 25 Most Powerful Politicians
The end is nigh: On Day Four, we crack the Top Ten.

2019 TBPP Header 1600x1200 (2)
Sometimes who isn't on the list is just as important as who is.

A whole new world
A new fantastic point of view
No one to tell us ‘no’
Or where to go
Or say we’re only dreaming…
—From Disney’s 1992 animated film “Aladdin.”

… It really is a whole new world in Tampa, with Mayor Jane Castor’s historic victory, making her the Big Guava’s first openly gay Mayor.

Castor’s landslide victory swept through even national media as she overcame the negative ads launched against her by opponent David Straz, a multi-millionaire philanthropist who, you know, just happens to have a $1.1. million mausoleum.

Castor became the third out candidate to win a mayoral election in the United States this year, as well as the first openly gay Mayor of a major Florida city.

The former city police chief is but one highlight of the 2019 list of Tampa Bay’s 25 Most Powerful Politicians.

For this exercise, the Tampa Bay region is defined as Pinellas, Hillsborough and Pasco, but can also include Hernando, Polk or Sarasota, particularly if politicians from those counties impact either Pinellas or Hillsborough.

In compiling the 2019 list, Florida Politics queried several of the region’s leading political consultants, activists, bloggers, operatives and local lobbyists to name who they consider the 25 most powerful pols in the area. No suggested names were provided.

Among those on the 2019 panel: Democrat consultants Tom Alte and Meagan Salisbury of Blue Ticket Consulting, strategist Christina Barker, who serves as vice president of Community Partnerships and Policy at Vinik Family Office; Ashley Bauman of the Tampa Mayor’s Office, Laura Boehmer of Southern Strategy Group — Tampa Bay, Ricky Butler of the Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office, Tucker/Hall president Bill CarlsonAna Cruz and Todd Josko of Ballard Partners, Justin Day of Capital City Consulting, investigative journalist Mike Deeson, political consultant Barry EdwardsMatt Florell of St. Pete Polls, Shawn Foster of Sunrise Consulting Group, consultant Estella Gray, former Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce Chairman Mike Griffin, Tampa Bay politico Carrie Henriquez, columnist Joe Henderson, Matt Lettelleir of the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, Democrat activist Shannon Love, political strategist Jennifer Lux, Amy Maguire and Ronald Christaldi of Shumaker Advisors; La Gaceta publisher Patrick Manteiga, Momentum Strategy Group president Brock Mikosky, former state Rep. Seth McKeel of Southern Strategy Group — Tampa Bay, RJ Myers of Suskey Consulting, Bob O’Malley of Brightline Trains, Anthony Pedicini and Tom Piccolo of Strategic Image Management, Ron Pierce of RSA Consulting, Todd Pressman of Pressman & Associates, Darren Richards of Tucker Hall, Catalyst Communications Group founder Preston RudieTom Scherberger of the Hillsborough County Clerk’s Office, Adam Smith and John David White of Mercury, Alan Suskey of Suskey Consulting, Janet Zink — Assistant Vice President of Media & Government Relation at Tampa International Airport, and public affairs consultant Michelle Schorsch.

Being listed first on a panelist’s list earned 25 points, second earned 24 points and so on. Listing as 25th received one point. Scores were then added up and — voilà — the list was created.

In the top four or five slots might be who you would expect. But once you pass that, the list starts to get very interesting.

And a few names not included could indeed be a surprise.

With that introduction, we ask you to please stay tuned to Florida Politics throughout the week as we count down the 25 most influential political figures in Tampa Bay.

Follow the entire list here, on Facebookand on Twitter with #Top25InTB.

No. 1: Chris Sprowls

No. 2: Bill Galvano

No. 3: Wilton Simpson

No. 4: Jeff Brandes

No. 5: Rick Kriseman

No. 6: Kathy Castor

No. 7: Bob Gualtieri

No. 8: Charlie Crist

No. 9: Les Miller

No. 10: Tom Lee

No. 11: Janet Cruz

No. 12: Jane Castor

No. 13: Darden Rice

No 14: Jamie Grant

No. 15: Darryl Rouson

No. 16: Chad Chronister

Also rans

No. 17: Andrew Warren

No. 18: Gus Bilirakis

No. 19: Janet Long

#20: Ben Diamond

#21: Ken Welch

#22: Ken Hagen

#23: Jackie Toledo

#24: Luis Viera

#25: Pat Kemp

Peter Schorsch

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises Media and is the publisher of, INFLUENCE Magazine, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. Previous to his publishing efforts, Peter was a political consultant to dozens of congressional and state campaigns, as well as several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella. Follow Peter on Twitter @PeterSchorschFL.

One comment

  • David Sillman

    July 17, 2019 at 11:54 am

    OMG there are some awful human beings on this list (ie. Republican science deniers, gun nuts, election thieves)!!

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn


This is default text for notification bar