Governor taps Darryl Taylor to serve as Superintendent of Calhoun Co. schools

taylor, darryl
Taylor is appointed to the position vacated by Ralph Yoder.

The Calhoun County school district has a new leader.

Today, Governor Ron DeSantis announced the appointment of Darryl Taylor as the county’s new Superintendent.

Taylor is appointed to the position vacated by Ralph Yoder.

Taylor has worked in the public school system for over 25 years as a teacher and guidance counselor. Currently, he is the principal at Carr Elementary and Middle School in Clarksville, as well as the Interim Assistant Superintendent in Calhoun.

Taylor’s appointment earned the praise of Education Commissioner Richard Corcoran, who called Taylor an “excellent leader,” and Sen. Bill Montford, who hailed Taylor’s appointment as an excellent choice.

Yoder told the school district in April that he would be stepping down after serving as superintendent for nearly six and a half years. Yoder accepted the position of executive director of the Florida Transportation Commission.

Peter Schorsch

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including Florida Politics and Orlando Rising and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. Schorsch is also publisher of INFLUENCE Magazine. For several years, Peter's blog was ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Drew Dixon, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704