Senate agrees to House terms on specialty license plate changes
Another year brings a new specialty license plate bill.

Lawmakers agree to another round of revision for the state plate program.

Another year brings another round of changes to the state’s specialty license plate program.

The Florida Senate passed for the second time SB 364, a measure sponsored by Sen. Aaron Bean. The bill brings some changes to the program after House amendments earlier in the week.

The original Bean bill sought 150 specialty plates, but legislation passed by the House allows for 135 plates. And 3,000 pre-sales will be required for all plates, including out-of-state colleges, which had been set at 4,000.

The bill would begin the development process for Inter Miami CF, Safe Haven for Newborns, Pap Corps Champions for Cancer Research, Learn to Fly, Florida Swims, Down Syndrome Awareness, Take Stock in Children, and Gopher Tortoise license plates.

One tag authorized by the Senate will not make it, however. An amendment from Sen. Lori Berman to reinstate the Ethical Ecotourism tag in the bill failed. That was removed by the House.

“There was no House committee that heard this plate,” said bill sponsor Aaron Bean. “Consider the 30-some-odd plates that will live to fight another day.”

The bill also resets the 24-month clock on how long organizations have to reach the sales threshold number of 3,000.

Of the 60 recently authorized plates, 33 haven’t met the sales threshold required in order to be printed.

A.G. Gancarski

A.G. Gancarski has written for since 2014. He is based in Northeast Florida. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter: @AGGancarski

One comment

  • Andrew Finn

    March 9, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    I’ll bet we could get about a bazillion pre-orders for a “NUKE MOSCOW” specialty plate.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704