Florida Chamber endorses all Republican Senators seeking re-election — plus Linda Stewart

Eighteen Senate incumbents were endorsed in total.

The Florida Chamber of Commerce is endorsing every Republican state Senator seeking re-election this year — and one Democratic incumbent.

The business advocacy group announced its support of a bipartisan list of lawmakers running for more time in Tallahassee. The list includes 18 state Senators.

The only Democrat to make the cut was Sen. Linda Stewart, an Orlando Democrat.

The other 17 members constitute every single Republican seeking another term. That includes five Senators who don’t even face opposition this year: Sen. Jennifer Bradley of Fleming Island; Sen. Gayle Harrell of Stuart; Sen. Debbie Mayfield of Rockledge; Senate President-Designate Kathleen Passidomo; and Sen. Ana Maria Rodrigues of Miami.

The rest of the senators endorsed all face opposition either in their primaries or in general election bids. Some of those face significant fights this year.

Sen. Jason Brodeur, a Sanford Republican, appears on the list of endorsees and faces a challenge from Democratic Rep. Joy Goff-Marcil. Further south, Sen. Ileana Garcia, a Miami Republican, will face off with former Miami Beach Commission candidate Racquel Pacheco. Both those races have been identified by the Florida Democratic Party’s Florida Senate Victory arm as “front line races.”

The Chamber in its endorsement committed to stand behind its candidates with a full 100-plus combines years of political experience on staff to help get its endorsed incumbents re-elected.

“The Florida Chamber has a long and proven track record of endorsing incumbent candidates who continue to drive sound policy helping Florida maintain a pro-jobs climate and safeguarding the strength of our economy,” said Mark Wilson, President and CEO, Florida Chamber of Commerce. “We trust these incumbent legislators to make Florida’s future a priority, focusing on job creation and further economic opportunity for everyone.”

Most of the lawmakers on the list will face little resistance.

Stewart faces a Republican opponent, Steve Dixon, but he has reported no fundraising to date beyond $5,000 in candidate loans.

Other Republicans endorsed by the Chamber include GOP Sens. Ben Albritton, Dennis Baxley, Jim Boyd, Doug Broxson, Danny Burgess, Joe Gruters, Ed Hooper, Travis Hutson, Keith Perry and Tom Wright.

The Florida Chamber also endorsed over 50 House incumbents running for re-election this year, including:

District 1: Rep. Michelle Salzman

District 2: Rep. Robert Alexander “Alex” Andrade
District 4: Rep. Patt Maney*
District 7: Rep. Jason Shoaf*
District 10: Rep. Robert Charles “Chuck” Brannan III*
District 11: Rep. Sam Garrison
District 12: Rep. Wyman Duggan*
District 18: Rep. Cyndi Stevenson*
District 19: Speaker-Designate Paul Renner
District 20: Rep. Bobby Payne
District 22: Rep. Charles Wesley “Chuck” Clemons, Sr.
District 23: Rep. Ralph E. Massullo, M.D.
District 24: Rep. Joe Harding*
District 26: Rep. Keith L. Truenow

District 27: Rep. Stan McClain*
District 28: Rep. Thomas J. “Tom” Leek
District 31: Rep. Tyler I. Sirois*
District 32: Rep. Thad Altman*
District 33: Rep. Randy Fine
District 35: Rep. Fred Hawkins
District 38: Rep. David Smith
District 48: Rep. Sam H. Killebrew*

District 49: Rep. Melony M. Bell*
District 51: Rep. Josie Tomkow
District 54: Rep. Randall Scott “Randy” Maggard
District 61: Rep. Linda Chaney
District 66: Rep. Traci Koster
District 68: Rep. Lawrence McClure
District 70: Rep. Michael Beltran

District 71: Rep. William Cloud “Will” Robinson, Jr.*
District 72: Rep. Tommy Gregory

District 73: Rep. Fiona McFarland
District 74: Rep. James Buchanan*
District 75: Rep. Michael Grant*
District 76: Rep. Spencer Roach*

District 78: Rep. Jenna Persons-Mulicka

District 79: Rep. Mike Giallombardo*

District 80: Rep. Adam Botana

District 81: Rep. Bob Rommel*

District 82: Rep. Lauren Melo*
District 83: Rep. Kaylee Tuck*

District 84: Rep. Dana Trabulsy
District 85: Rep. Tobin Rogers “Toby” Overdorf

District 86: Rep. John Snyder
District 87: Rep. Michael A. “Mike” Caruso
District 94: Rep. Rick Roth

District 100: Rep. Chip LaMarca
District 110: Rep. Tom Fabricio*
District 111: Rep. David Borrero*
District 112: Rep. Alex Rizo*
District 114: Rep. Demi Busatta Cabrera

District 116: Rep. Daniel Perez*
District 118: Rep. Juan Alfonso Fernandez-Barquin
District 120: Rep. James Vernon “Jim” Mooney, Jr.

*These candidates have been reelected due to no candidate qualifying to oppose them. The Florida Chamber endorses their return to the Florida Legislature.

Jacob Ogles

Jacob Ogles has covered politics in Florida since 2000 for regional outlets including SRQ Magazine in Sarasota, The News-Press in Fort Myers and The Daily Commercial in Leesburg. His work has appeared nationally in The Advocate, Wired and other publications. Events like SRQ’s Where The Votes Are workshops made Ogles one of Southwest Florida’s most respected political analysts, and outlets like WWSB ABC 7 and WSRQ Sarasota have featured his insights. He can be reached at [email protected].


  • Joe Corsin

    July 11, 2022 at 10:37 am

    Florida is now a far right, one party state of grifters whose sole function is to rip people off and shovel money to the rich. Stop the fascist kleptocracy…vote Crist for governor.

  • rass

    July 11, 2022 at 2:53 pm

    The Chamber is dominated by big businesses such as FPL and Duke Energy. The Chamber is a big part of Florida’s race to the bottom of the toilet bowl. The Chamber’s sorry record speaks for itself. Their endorsement of assclowns should tell folks who NOT to vote for.

Comments are closed.


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn