Florida Chamber hands out its yearly “report cards” to lawmakers

report card (Large)

The Florida Chamber of Commerce on Thursday released its annual Legislative Report Card, with 30 senators and 80 representatives earning an “A,” the group said in a news release.

Fourteen lawmakers also got the chamber’s “Distinguished Advocate award for championing pro-jobs, pro-business legislation”:

  • Sen. Aaron Bean
  • Sen. Dorothy Hukill
  • Sen. Garrett Richter
  • Sen. Wilton Simpson
  • Sen. Kelli Stargel
  • Rep. Jim Boyd
  • Rep. Matt Caldwell
  • Rep. Manny Diaz, Jr.
  • Rep. Jay Fant
  • Rep. Erik Fresen
  • Rep. Matt Gaetz
  • Rep. Ed Narain (the only Democrat on the list)
  • Rep. Kathleen Passidomo
  • Rep. Lake Ray

Here’s more from the release:

The Florida Chamber’s Legislative Report Card is an annual opportunity to recognize members of the Florida Legislature who placed making Florida more competitive through private-sector job creation above special interest attempts to protect the status quo.

(N)early 69 percent of state lawmakers earned an “A” (90-100) on the priority pro-jobs issues outlined in the Florida Chamber’s 2016 Business Agenda.

• • •

The Florida Chamber’s Distinguished Advocate award recognizes lawmakers who fought tirelessly for the passage of pro-business legislation – no matter how difficult – and furthered the Florida Chamber’s goals of securing Florida’s future through job creation and economic development.

• • •

Moving forward, the Florida Chamber is already developing its 2017 Business Agenda, and the Florida Chamber’s Political Operations team, under the direction of Senior Vice President of Political Operations Marian Johnson, is actively enlisting pro-jobs, pro-business candidates to run in the 2016 election cycle.

The Florida Chamber will soon release “How They Voted 2016,” a detailed publication summarizing the priorities of the recent Legislative Sessions and incorporating the 2016 Legislative Report Card.

Staff Reports


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Renzo Downey, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn