Richard Corcoran rolls out leadership team, announces committee chairs appointments
Florida House of Representatives speaker designate Richard Corcoran in his office in the Florida Capitol December 2, 2015.

Richard Corcoran 01 mw 120215 (Large)

House Speaker Designate Richard Corcoran rolled out his leadership team Wednesday afternoon, tapping Miami Rep. Jeanette Nunez as as his House speaker pro tempore and Rep. Carlos Trujillo to be chairman of the House Appropriations Committee.

In a memo to House members Wednesday, the Land O’Lakes Republican rolled out Republican leadership and committee chairs. Corcoran encouraged members to “speak with the chair of the full committee” if they are interested in serving on the committee or as a subcommittee chair.

“It is my intention to break with past practice of the speaker making all appointments,” he said in a memo. “This means subcommittee chair appointments will be made in collaboration with the full committee chairs.”

Rep. Ray Rodrigues will serve as the House majority leader, while Rep. Jose Oliva will serve as the chairman of the Rules & Policy Committee. Corcoran tapped Rep. Jose Felix Diaz to serve as chairman of his Commerce Committee, while Rep. Mike Bileca will serve as the chairman of the Education Committee.

Rep. Matt Caldwell has been selected to head the Government Accountability Committee, while Rep. Travis Cummings will chair the Health & Human Services Committee. Rep. Chris Sprowls has been selected to oversee the Judiciary Committee, Rep. Larry Metz will head the Public Integrity & Ethics committee, and Rep. Jim Boyd will chair the Ways & Means Committee.


Jenna Buzzacco-Foerster


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Drew Dixon, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn