Darren Soto, Buddy Dyer to headline Mayra Uribe kickoff of Orange Co. race
Mayra Uribe is accusing her opponent Pete Clarke of ‘stalking,’ which most people who knows Clarke think is ludicrous.

Mayra Uribe
Uribe is facing reelection against Bill Moore in 2020

U.S. Rep. Darren Soto and Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer are among dozens of host committee members for the 2020 reelection campaign kickoff for Orange County Commissioner Mayra Uribe.

Uribe, fresh off announcement Tuesday that she was endorsing Dyer‘s 2019 reelection campaign, is seeking her first full term on the Orange County Commission after she was elected in 2018 to fill the last two years’ of Pete Clarke‘s term in District 3, after Clarke decided to run for Orange County Mayor.

She filed for reelection two weeks ago and the Thursday evening’s fundraiser at the Delaney Hotel in South Orlando is being billed as her kickoff.

On Monday picked up her first opponent, retired Orlando Police Officer Bill Moore, who has run for the seat twice before.

Uribe is a Democrat and Moore a Republican, though the seat and election are officially nonpartisan.

Besides Soto and Dyer, both Democrats, Uribe’s host committee includes a mixture of Democrats and Republicans. Among them: Belle Isle Mayor Nick Fouraker, former Belle Isle Mayor Lydia Pisano, Orange County Tax Collector Scott Randolph, former Orange County Chair Linda Chapin, former Orange County Commissioners Scott Boyd and Homer Hartage, and dozens of local lobbyists and lawyers who work in public affairs.

In August, 2018, Moore finished fifth in a six-candidate field, and Uribe went on to win the seat in the November election, defeating Pete Crotty, 57-43. In 2016, 57 to 43. In 2016, Clarke defeated Moore 69-23 in a three-way race.

District 3 covers parts of south-central and eastern Orange County, including the cities of Edgewood and Belle Isle, and south Orlando.

Scott Powers

Scott Powers is an Orlando-based political journalist with 30+ years’ experience, mostly at newspapers such as the Orlando Sentinel and the Columbus Dispatch. He covers local, state and federal politics and space news across much of Central Florida. His career earned numerous journalism awards for stories ranging from the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster to presidential elections to misplaced nuclear waste. He and his wife Connie have three grown children. Besides them, he’s into mystery and suspense books and movies, rock, blues, basketball, baseball, writing unpublished novels, and being amused. Email him at [email protected].


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Cole Pepper, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Drew Wilson, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn