Tag: Duval County Tax Collector
Police stage at a security fence ahead of a rally near the U.S. Capitol in Washington, Saturday, Sept. 18, 2021. The rally was planned by allies of former President Donald Trump and aimed at supporting the so-called "political prisoners" of the Jan. 6 insurrection at the U.S. Capitol. Image via AP.

A.G. GancarskiJanuary 4, 2019

The March race for Duval County Tax Collector got interesting Wednesday when Democrat John Crescimbeni filed to run. And it got still more interesting when another filed Democrat decided to pass on another run Friday. Incumbent Republican Jim Overton, a former City Council colleague of Crescimbeni’s, won a special election in November for the vacated seat. Crescimbeni […]

A.G. GancarskiNovember 6, 2018

Though a 2019 election looms, Republican Jim Overton won Tuesday’s special election for Duval County Tax Collector. But it was close. Overton won with 51 percent of the vote. He defeated Democrat Mia Jones, who recently was a member of the Florida House, rising to Democratic Leader pro tempore in 2014-16. The low-wattage race pitted two political veterans against each […]

A.G. GancarskiSeptember 11, 2018

After the August primary, the race for Duval County tax collector is now a binary affair, with Democrat Mia Jones and Republican Jim Overton headed for a November clash. While Jones enjoyed a strong plurality (46 percent) of the August vote (as the sole Democrat in the race), Overton barely emerged from a field of three Republicans, […]

A.G. GancarskiJune 8, 2018

Another day, another significant endorsement for Jacksonville City Councilman Doyle Carter as he vies for the Duval County Tax Collector position. Friday brought an endorsement for Carter from fellow Council Republican Scott Wilson, the Vice President-designate of the city’s legislative body. This follows up a Thursday endorsement from Jacksonville Sheriff Mike Williams. Carter is running against two other […]

A.G. GancarskiJune 7, 2018

Jacksonville City Councilman Doyle Carter, one of three Republicans and four total candidates vying for the Duval County Tax Collector opening in August, rolled out an endorsement Thursday from Jacksonville Sheriff Mike Williams. This is the first major endorsement in this race. Carter is running against two other political veterans, Lake Ray and Jim Overton, in the GOP field. As […]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Jason Delgado, Renzo Downey, Rick Flagg, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Joe Henderson, Janelle Irwin, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Jesse Scheckner, Scott Powers, Andrew Wilson, and Kelly Hayes.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn