Tag: Duval County Legislative Delegation

A.G. GancarskiOctober 19, 2017

Cancelled: the Friday meeting of the Duval County Legislative Delegation to discuss a potential local bill mandating crossing guards for students in Grade 6. Rep. Kim Daniels, a former Councilwoman, sought to have the state mandate these in a bill that would impose a specific requirement on Jacksonville that wouldn’t apply statewide. Councilman Reggie Brown, who carried the […]

A.G. GancarskiSeptember 14, 2017

The Duval County Legislative Delegation discussed its role Jacksonville’s continuing efforts to recover from Hurricane Irma on Thursday afternoon. A big part of their vision, whether in a Special Session dedicated to Hurricane Irma or beyond, is ensuring that “Jacksonville gets what it needs,” as Chairman Jay Fant put it, after the “unprecedented destruction” of the […]

A.G. GancarskiMay 16, 2017

Shots were fired across the bow of the Duval County Legislative Delegation Tuesday by Jacksonville City Councilman Matt Schellenberg. In the Florida Times-Union, Schellenberg said the “meek and mild” delegation brought home “crumbs … a huge disappointment.” He also said the delegation kowtowed to House leadership rather than bringing home the bacon, taking specific issue with the […]

A.G. GancarskiJanuary 31, 2017

There are three local bills that the Duval County Legislative Delegation have to carry this session. Two of them involve relaxed restrictions for drinking. Rep.  Tracie Davis will sponsor those. And one involves governance of the Duval County School Board, a subject that inspires drinking. Rep. Jason Fischer, an alumnus of the school board, will sponsor […]


Florida Politics is a statewide, new media platform covering campaigns, elections, government, policy, and lobbying in Florida. This platform and all of its content are owned by Extensive Enterprises Media.

Publisher: Peter Schorsch @PeterSchorschFL

Contributors & reporters: Phil Ammann, Roseanne Dunkelberger, A.G. Gancarski, Anne Geggis, Kelly Hayes, Ryan Nicol, Jacob Ogles, Gray Rohrer, Jesse Scheckner, Christine Sexton, Andrew Wilson, Wes Wolfe, and Mike Wright.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @PeterSchorschFL
Phone: (727) 642-3162
Address: 204 37th Avenue North #182
St. Petersburg, Florida 33704

Sign up for Sunburn